crafting for speed and charity

My son’s school is having a Christmas market.  The things they asked for donations for seemed a little weird to me – maybe it’s the way things are done here in the UK (where we are until the end of the year), but I wasn’t about to go out and buy something nice to donate to have somebody else buy it to donate the money to the school, especially if the amount the final purchaser spent was less than I spent.   It seems nicer to donate something homemade – but the times we were supposed to turn in the goodies was the day before, which makes the goodies less good.  (I have a rule about donating/buying freshly baked goods.  They need to be freshly baked to be good.)

So I asked if I could just donate some knitted hats or something.  They seemed to think this was weird, but they thought this was okay.  (I did this at Henry’s other school, with making some mustaches for some party.  I guess knitting is just the thing I’m going to start offering now.  It’s kind of nice to have something to be able to offer.)

Would you buy this?

topdownswirl

Or this?  (You know, when it’s finished.  It’s supposed to be Fish Hat, made with some odds and ends.)

fishiehat

I don’t even care about how much money they’re going to get for the hats.  (Not really.  I mean, ideally, the cost of the yarn, but because it’s a gift to the school, it doesn’t really matter.  Besides, it’s just scraps of stuff I was thinking about donating anyway.)

Regardless if the items get purchased, it’s better for my current sensibility, if not for the bit of cramping in my hands while I hurry to finish by the due date.

Leave a Reply

